Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 24th Mar 2009 23:26 UTC, submitted by inkslinger
Internet Explorer Recently, Microsoft released Internet Explorer 8, which boasted much better standards compliance than previous iterations of the browser. While it passed the Acid2 test, IE8 failed miserably in the Acid3 test, and many people criticised Microsoft for it. Microsoft Australia's Nick Hodge has stated that Microsoft purposefully decided not to support Acid3, because the test tests against draft standards.
Permalink for comment 354932
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: Sounds good... at first...
by lemur2 on Wed 25th Mar 2009 08:16 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: Sounds good... at first..."
Member since:

Well, what others call "levels" I call version increments :-) Though I guess that isn't true as you could then have a version 2 for Level 1.2 ( i.e., version 1 or L 1.2 was buggy ).

That is not it. It doesn't work like that.

IE, as do all other browser, complies with DOM level 1.

DOM level 2 was published in 2000. It hasn't changed at all since. DOM leevel 2 includes DOM level 1, plus extra functions. Your browser still needs to be compliant with DOM level 1 in order to be compliant with DOM level 2. It is like adding an extension to a house ... you still have to have the house in order to have the house plus extensions.

IE doesn't have this, it (alone) is stuck at DOM level 1.

DOM level 3 was published in 2004. AFAIK, no browsers have complied with that as yet. In order to do so, however, they won't have to throw away any of the functionality of DOM level 2.

Edited 2009-03-25 08:17 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 3