Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Permalink for comment 386598
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Just more of the same
by jabbotts on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:38 UTC
jabbotts
Member since:
2007-09-06

Install Quicktime and unless your paying attention to the download selection, you'll get the installer that includes iTunes; as welcome as Yahoo and Google browser bars now included with most installer downloads.

I go so far as to uninstall Quicktime+iTunes and reinstall with the Quicktime only bundle.

Updates are best handled with as much attention even if your on an osX machine, the age old rule still applies never auto-update and especially, never auto-install-updates on any platform. Look at what the update software wants to install else. It'll avoide getting IE8 before you want it, iTunes and other crapware bundlings with all you wanted was Quicktime, browser bars when all you wanted was the app they where parasitically attached too.

Reply Score: 4