Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Permalink for comment 386612
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: Your statement is false
by David on Mon 28th Sep 2009 17:30 UTC in reply to "RE: Your statement is false"
David
Member since:
1997-10-01

Not actually true, FYI, though I can see why you might think so. That's why I'm writing this comment. I actually got a lot of push back from the OSNews editors when I decided to publish my little emotional rant, and I haven't ever instructed them to write anything about Apple, bad or good.

As for my "give Apple bad PR idea," nobody else ended up thinking it was likely to be an effective idea, and a movement followed by one person isn't going to be effective, so I dropped it.

Incidentally, I agree with the earlier commenter that Thom is a bit misleading in that the Apple software updater doesn't automatically install this software, it just prompts you to install it. On my Windows machine (my main machine is a Mac), I always uncheck and disable updates for Safari and any other Apple software that I don't need. So I agree with Thom that what Apple is doing is lame and annoying, but I'm not as up-in-arms about it.

Reply Parent Score: 4