Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Permalink for comment 386626
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Probably, just an error
by umccullough on Mon 28th Sep 2009 18:17 UTC in reply to "Probably, just an error"
umccullough
Member since:
2006-01-26

At 99% it was just an error from someone at Apple, that did little to no damage to anyone, and tomorrow we'll see official apologies.
But it quickly generated the usual flood of "Apple racism" from people who has nothing better to do.

I wonder how much energy has been wasted for this and how much carbon was released in the atmosphere ;)


The question then becomes - are there any drawbacks to having this software installed?

Because this "mistake" means that probably 70-90% (yes, made that up) of all Apple software users are probably now running this "update" because they've been "trained" to just click install every time an updater pops up.

Will Apple go back and remove this software from every machine that it was installed on "by mistake"? If not, does this software do anything to affect the user? My initial black-helicopter thought was: "Does it by chance report any details back to Apple when an iPhone is connected?" It sure sounds it pulls a lot of info off the phone...

Reply Parent Score: 2