Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Permalink for comment 386631
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: Probably, just an error
by biffuz on Mon 28th Sep 2009 18:42 UTC in reply to "RE: Probably, just an error"
biffuz
Member since:
2006-03-27

Will Apple go back and remove this software from every machine that it was installed on "by mistake"? If not, does this software do anything to affect the user? My initial black-helicopter thought was: "Does it by chance report any details back to Apple when an iPhone is connected?" It sure sounds it pulls a lot of info off the phone...


It's quite possible you're right ;)

But if Apple really wants to gather details of the iPhones in the wild, they surely have more subtle ways...

Reply Parent Score: 1