Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 12th Oct 2009 20:05 UTC
Mac OS X We generally don't report on individual bugs or security issues in operating systems, but a pretty serious bug has reared its ugly head in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. If you had a guest account enabled prior to installing Snow Leopard, then you are at risk of losing all your data.
Permalink for comment 388941
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
GraphiteCube
Member since:
2009-04-01

Are you sure "everyone"? ALL Mac users?

Yes making backups is good, but not everyone does it. I do backups and put it on online storage, but not using Time Machine.

Anyway, this bug (or feature) on Snow Leopard is not acceptable. Imagine you have a friend come to your home and want to borrow your Mac, you login as Guest for him/ her. After he/ she used your computer, you will find that all your data is lost when you login to your primary account, no one knows if you will blame him/ her for the lost.

Reply Parent Score: 2