Linked by David Adams on Fri 26th Mar 2010 15:47 UTC
Privacy, Security, Encryption For the first time security researchers have spotted a type of malicious software that overwrites update functions for other applications, which could pose additional long-term risks for users. The malware, which infects Windows computers, masks itself as an updater for Adobe Systems' products and other software such as Java, wrote Nguyen Cong Cuong, an analyst with Bach Khoa Internetwork Security (BKIS), a Vietnamese security company, on its blog.
Permalink for comment 415433
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[4]: I knew it!
by Neolander on Sat 27th Mar 2010 07:23 UTC in reply to "RE[3]: I knew it!"
Neolander
Member since:
2010-03-08

A way to auto-update antivirus software without violating any kind of law would be to tell people at install time "By clicking next here, you give this software the right to do all its usual work that require no acknowledgement (including updating and auto-scanning) silently, without notifying you about anything it does."

In other words : now, the software installs some updater without telling you about it, and then at every boot yells "Hey ! I've got to do something, may I ?". You can't blame people for being angry and ignoring it. They turn on their computer to do some work, not to update their antivirus and various plugins. Such annoyance slows them down in their task. So that software which needs updates should only ask for permission to update one time, and then STFU.

(Note : This does *not* mean that software should go the Mac way and not notify you about anything at all, leading to situations where you click "send" in a webmail while wireless has been disconnected for several minutes, and lose all of your data in a magistral "The site could not be loaded". It means that popups should only be kept for tasks which really require them).

Edited 2010-03-27 07:33 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 1