Linked by David Adams on Thu 31st Mar 2011 16:41 UTC
Privacy, Security, Encryption If you download and use what appears to be a version of the commercial "Walk and Text" Android app from a file sharing site, you're in for a surprise. When you run it, it shows you that it's being "cracked" but it's really gathering information from your device, in preparation for an e-smackdown. It sends a bunch of personal information (name, phone number, IMEI) off to a server, and, just for lulz, text messages everyone on your contact list:
Permalink for comment 468690
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[4]: Nice !
by gerg on Fri 1st Apr 2011 14:13 UTC in reply to "RE[3]: Nice !"
gerg
Member since:
2011-03-16

Tell me, how do you rate a paid app you haven't bought? As far as I can tell, you only get access to rating when you've installed an app through the Market.


People purchase it and then immediately issue a refund. Thusly allowing them to rate and comment.

Reply Parent Score: 2