Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 16th Apr 2012 08:26 UTC
Internet & Networking "The principles of openness and universal access that underpinned the creation of the internet three decades ago are under greater threat than ever, according to Google co-founder Sergey Brin. The threat to the freedom of the internet comes, he claims, from a combination of governments increasingly trying to control access and communication by their citizens, the entertainment industry's attempts to crack down on piracy, and the rise of 'restrictive' walled gardens such as Facebook and Apple, which tightly control what software can be released on their platforms." That governments - east and west - are trying to destroy the open web, that we know. As for Facebook and Apple... Well, all I know is that it is completely and utterly impossible to check what information Apple has about you. Unlike Google (more here) and to a lesser degree Facebook, Apple provides zero means to see, export, or delete the information they have on you, associated with your Apple ID or otherwise. In 2012, that's just sinister.
Permalink for comment 514349
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: hypocrisy, thy name is Brin
by Thom_Holwerda on Mon 16th Apr 2012 14:04 UTC in reply to "hypocrisy, thy name is Brin"
Thom_Holwerda
Member since:
2005-06-29

About apple this really doesn't make a lot of sense. Apple is not in the business of data mining and does no money from advertising ((don't really count the invisible/tiny business of iAds )). Apples does its money the old fashion way: it sells you products that you want to buy.


Apple uses that data to better understand how to extract money from you. Google does it to better understand how to extract money from advertisers. I don't see the difference.

What was sinister for me was discovering my google record in google's dashboard somewhere in 2008/2009 and discovering that they had recorded everything i ever searched since 2004. You could pretty much make a day-to-day picture of me just by following their records.


If it dated back that far, then you turned the tracking feature on yourself. Only very recently did Google turn it on by default for NEW ACCOUNTS ONLY. In other words, you willingly turned it on, and now you;re complaining? Even though you can see all the info and delete it?

Cry me a river.

Reply Parent Score: 4