Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 16th Apr 2012 08:26 UTC
Internet & Networking "The principles of openness and universal access that underpinned the creation of the internet three decades ago are under greater threat than ever, according to Google co-founder Sergey Brin. The threat to the freedom of the internet comes, he claims, from a combination of governments increasingly trying to control access and communication by their citizens, the entertainment industry's attempts to crack down on piracy, and the rise of 'restrictive' walled gardens such as Facebook and Apple, which tightly control what software can be released on their platforms." That governments - east and west - are trying to destroy the open web, that we know. As for Facebook and Apple... Well, all I know is that it is completely and utterly impossible to check what information Apple has about you. Unlike Google (more here) and to a lesser degree Facebook, Apple provides zero means to see, export, or delete the information they have on you, associated with your Apple ID or otherwise. In 2012, that's just sinister.
Permalink for comment 514356
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Thom_Holwerda
Member since:
2005-06-29

Untill now i have seen no such behaviour from apple. nor any proofs of it. Again, not saying that i can't happen, just saying that, in the present, i don't think that is credible.


And the whole "info deletion" considering Google is rather suspicious to me.


So, you believe Apple on its blue eyes, but not Google? That's perfectly fine, of course, but you have to be incredibly naive to think that Apple does not use the data it has on its customers to extract more money from them.

That's not true. I did no enabling. The only thing i did do, was browsing the web and doing search on google.com WHILE logged in to my gmail account. Something that i actually never thought was "wrong".


You MUST have enabled it. Maybe you didn't know, did it accidentally, or whatever. But for older accounts, it was only enabled if you opted in. I never opted in, so it's disabled for me. For newer account, it was opt-out.

Reply Parent Score: 3