Linked by Thom Holwerda on Thu 5th Jul 2012 21:21 UTC
Windows Microsoft is continuing its efforts to simplify its product lines, and has cut the number of versions for the next release of Windows Server down from twelve to just four: Datacenter, Standard, Essentials, and Foundation. Pretty straightforward. Windows Home Server gets axed, but then again, I don't think anybody bought Windows Home Servers anyway.
Permalink for comment 525492
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Still confusing..
by martini on Thu 5th Jul 2012 21:56 UTC
Member since:

"Datacenter, Standard, Essentials, and Foundation."

If I don't check the MS page, I can not even guess what is the difference between Essentials and Foundation.

Just like the two IBM Lotus Notes types "Basic and Standard". ...should they call it "basic" and "plus" to understand which offers more functionality?

Edited 2012-07-05 21:57 UTC

Reply Score: 3