Linked by Thom Holwerda on Thu 5th Jul 2012 21:21 UTC
Windows Microsoft is continuing its efforts to simplify its product lines, and has cut the number of versions for the next release of Windows Server down from twelve to just four: Datacenter, Standard, Essentials, and Foundation. Pretty straightforward. Windows Home Server gets axed, but then again, I don't think anybody bought Windows Home Servers anyway.
Permalink for comment 525551
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Can someone explain this to me?
by Slambert666 on Fri 6th Jul 2012 03:14 UTC
Member since:

If I have an ASP.NET application that needs to run on a server in a organization that does not already have any licenses, what do I need to buy?
Lets say the org has 100 users and the app does not need AD or anything beyond IIS itself.
The app is taking care of authentication itself (no user accounts needed) just straight up ASP.NET.
From what I can see depending on the versions:
alt 1: 1 DataCenter Edition License + 100 CALs
alt 2: 1 Standard Edition License + 100 CALs
alt 3: 1 Essentials Edition License (no CALs needed)
alt 4: 1 Foundation Edition License (no CALs needed)
Is this correct? They removed CALs from Essentials and Foundation?

Reply Score: 1