Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 529879
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Probably Auto Save
by mango on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:52 UTC
mango
Member since:
2006-12-15

Save as is not deleting your info. Auto save is saving you changes over the original.

If you make changes to the original document auto save will save your changes.

Then when you click "save as" you get a new copy of the document with you changes.

Reply Score: 7