Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 529884
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Probably Auto Save
by jessesmith on Mon 6th Aug 2012 14:10 UTC in reply to "Probably Auto Save"
jessesmith
Member since:
2010-03-11

That is still horrible behaviour. Auto-save should not over-write the original document, it should be saving changes to a hidden file which can be recovered in the case of a crash. Over-writing a document without the user saying so is a terrible idea.

Reply Parent Score: 12