Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 529922
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: Probably Auto Save
by mrstep on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:33 UTC in reply to "RE: Probably Auto Save"
mrstep
Member since:
2009-07-18

I like a lot of the things Apple has done, but Auto Save definitely isn't one of them. Agreed - totally stupid concept. It's about as half baked as an auto-save or versioning concept could be.

Versions without the ability to name/describe them? Auto-save that slaps changes in and opens in that state on the next open of a document but at the same time loses the Undo command history that would at least sort of make it feel like a persistent app state? (Not that I want the auto-save bit to begin with, but if it's there shouldn't it at least make things feel like persistent editing state instead of keeping your changes and losing the logical way to undo parts of it?)

Open a doc, resize and go to Save As..., oops looks like the original is already modified. Oh, and really bad interface for browsing the (unnamed) versions - if you can even find the way to invoke the comparisons. Seriously just horrible.

Reply Parent Score: 3