Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 529927
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: file versioning
by Tony Swash on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:57 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: file versioning"
Tony Swash
Member since:
2009-08-22

Bit puzzled about what's actually going on here...though losing an original document to save the possible loss of an edited version is counter-intuitive to how people actually think/work editing stuff. Can imagine a 'collaborative' document could end-up having little or no relation(unintended)to the original.


See my earlier comment. I tested this behaviour and no data is being lost. What happens when you do a 'save as' is that the original version reflects the latest version and the older version appears as the most recent backed version. I really cannot see how anyone can lose any data doing any of this. Apple's logic is that it's better to have an automatic system that means everyone's data is protected than create a manual system that is nice and flexible and familiar for a few but which leaves the majority open to data loss.

Seems sound reasoning to me. Maybe Apple will tweak it's implementation to suit the few but I wouldn't bet on it.

Reply Parent Score: 3