Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 529958
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[4]: file versioning
by quackalist on Mon 6th Aug 2012 20:16 UTC in reply to "RE[3]: file versioning"
quackalist
Member since:
2007-08-27

Can't see how data isn't been lost cumulatively. Don't use mac but from what I understand you to mean a file is in a liner process of change and unless you remembered to copy the file from the beginning you have 2 versions, the present and the previous 'save-as' as the bak which is whatever variable of 'save-as's' from the original.

Reply Parent Score: 1