Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 530012
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: file versioning
by Neolander on Tue 7th Aug 2012 05:18 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: file versioning"
Neolander
Member since:
2010-03-08

As far as I can tell, there is no need for manual copies. Since OSX also includes automatic file versioning, a backup of the old document is also silently made when you start editing it, and one can easily go back in time and restore the old version as needed.

This file management paradigm works a bit like how Wordpress manages its blog posts : when you edit a blog post, you can create a new snapshot at any time using "Save Draft" or Ctl+S, and then restore them using a bunch of links under the editor. The online copy of the current snapshot, on its side, is silently backed up every few minutes. My experience with it is that so far, I did lose some data once or twice due to over-enthusiastic blog post editing, but that is nothing compared to the entire blog posts which I used to lose on my former CMSs when I pressed the "Submit" button without reminding to manually save the post to a text editor before, and then faced an Internet connexion or CMS failure. With the way OS X also automatically makes restore-able snapshots from time to time, I even could have reverted most of the unwanted changes easily. So as far as I'm concerned, this works perfectly.

I agree that this is at odds with current file management practices, though, and that Apple should not have pushed it to legacy users who are used to the old ways of file management without some kind of explanation and opt-in mechanism for them. What's more, as someone else mentioned, an issue with Auto-Save on a legacy OS like OS X is that not all software will implement it, resulting in an inconsistent UX. But it seems to me that this is also a sensible path to head towards in the long run.

Edited 2012-08-07 05:35 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 3