Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 530049
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[7]: file versioning
by dnebdal on Tue 7th Aug 2012 09:03 UTC in reply to "RE[6]: file versioning"
dnebdal
Member since:
2008-08-27

From some quick googling, it seems to be storing them in /.DocumentRevisions-V100/ .

This reminds me of something VMS (and several others) does: Say you create a new file called "myfile.txt". Editing and saving that creates "myfile.txt;1", and saving again creates "myfile.txt;2". Opening "myfile.txt" grabs the one with the highest number - and increments that again when saving. File managers and the shells and such know about this system, and only show the newest version.

It's not as automatic (you have to manually save), and it does require extra space (I think each version is a complete copy - at least there's a purge command that removes all but the newest versions) - but the basic idea was and still is nice.

Reply Parent Score: 2