Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Permalink for comment 530106
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
It's been that way for a long time now
by w3cdotorg on Tue 7th Aug 2012 13:59 UTC
w3cdotorg
Member since:
2006-02-09

It's been that way for a long time now, at least since OSX 10.5 or so.
As other comments said, this is both a feature and an annoying thing : it's awesome because it combines the auto-save feature with the duplicate file feature, but it's annoying because it destroys the original file.
Since 10.5 (could be earlier), I always open the original document, immediately do a "Save as..." and edit that newly saved document. My original document stays untouched.
Besides, it's exactly the same on MS Windows: "Save as..." also overwrites the original. So: non-story.

Reply Score: 1