Linked by Thom Holwerda on Fri 16th May 2014 23:11 UTC
Mac OS X

One side effect of the iTunes 11.2 update on Thursday, May 15th 2014 has been that some but not all Macs were seeing the /Users and /Users/Shared folders disappear.

The permissions on the /Users folder were also changed to be world-writable, so that anyone could read and write to the /Users folder.

As far as bugs go, this is a very fascinating one. Initially, people thought the OS X 10.9.3 update was the culprit, but as it turns out - it's the iTunes 11.2 update. I'm interested to (eventually) hear the root cause of all this, but for now, the linked article contains a temporary workaround.

Permalink for comment 589110
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Drumhellar
Member since:
2005-07-12

I guess we have complete different definition of what pre-emptive means in the end


Yes, we do.

One is the correct definition, in which running user mode processes are preempted by the kernel without intervention (or affecting) the process being preempted.

I'm not sure what you mean - but if it differs from the above definition, it's wrong.

Perhaps you're referring to kernel preemption, in which a user process can preempt certain kernel functions? Well, that's preemption, too, but not at all a requirement for a system to be considered a preemptive multitasking system.

Reply Parent Score: 6