Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652212
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
So let’s get this straight...
by mkone on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:29 UTC
mkone
Member since:
2006-03-14

...in the EU and Canada people can upload pictures of you and you will never know?

Somehow EU doesn’t look like it got the best deal here!

Edited 2017-12-19 19:29 UTC

Reply Score: 0