To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Well that's just it.
I mean, the folk who contribute here, are supposed to be 'net savvy', but look at the number of them on this thread alone who fell for this!
No official notice from Microsoft.
The site is called 'windowsvistatestdrive' - do me a favour!
And a quick domain check would show that it isn't even registered to Microsoft!
"And a quick domain check would show that it isn't even registered to Microsoft!"
Indeed, why would Microsoft register a domain via proxy for an official project? Doesn't really add up.
It is also noteworthy that the site isn't uusing SSL making it even harder to verify if it's an authentic MS site. If this actually IS an official MS site it's not very well handled and doesn't exactly instill a lot of confidence.
Exsilio Consulting does exist though:
http://www.bristolagency.com/
"And a quick domain check would show that it isn't even registered to Microsoft!"
After some more cursory investigation it appears the vista live test is hosted on the same machine as exsilio's website. Still pretty sloppy for a MS project though but maybe it's not actually official yet and arch has beaten the official launch.
I can't help but also notice that exsilio's admins are some of those misguided souls that wrongly think that blocking ping and traceroute serves some kind of purpose.





Member since:
2005-07-06
This is Joe Public you are talking about.
Of course they will visit, and of course they will download everything blindly....
Especially one that netcraft cannot locate, exsilioinc.com !
Look a few posts above about ActiveX
Ohhhhhh the fun of IT support
Edited 2007-01-23 10:22