Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Thread beginning with comment 386826
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Apple software = Spyware. Period!
by AnythingButVista on Tue 29th Sep 2009 14:52 UTC
AnythingButVista
Member since:
2008-08-27

One thing you are all overlooking, especially the Apple fanboys in here, it's that this isn't just a matter of lazy users not unticking a check box. I read about software before I install it, and I know how to untick the check box for the iPhone Configuration Utility. The problem is that every three days or so, the friggin Apple Software Update pops up again with the check box for that crapware checked again! They won't let go until you install the crap, or uninstall all Apple software!

Apple is really testing my patience with their Windows software! I can't tell you how much I hate the iPhone so the last thing I need is Apple trying to push iPhone stuff onto my computer. I can't wait for Amazon, Rhapsody or some other company to begin selling non-DRM music in my country, as when that day arrives, all bits of Apple code will be out of my PC's forever.

And no, I won't be getting a Mac! After having to put up with bloated, spyware-like Apple software on Windows, there is no way in hell I'm rewarding them with my money buying one of their overpriced computers just to run an OS that has been intentionally crippled by them to be non-installable in other capable (and less expensive) hardware.

Reply Score: 1