Linked by David Adams on Tue 15th Jun 2010 21:47 UTC, submitted by Anonymous Linux Fan
Linux Dell has posted a page extolling the virtues of Linux (Ubuntu in particular), with a quick explanation of what Linux is and how it compares against Windows. Of course, the page links off to Dell's various computers that ship with Linux pre-installed.
Thread beginning with comment 430291
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
spiderman
Member since:
2008-10-23

Meanwhile what do you think is going to happen when someone buys that computer with Ubuntu 8.10 and they get prompted to update with the words "A New Version Has Been Released" and they click the button?

It won't happen. Version upgrade are disabled by default. You have to go to the config panel and check the square that enable Version checks. If you do that, you probably know what you are doing.

Reply Parent Score: 4

bornagainenguin Member since:
2005-08-07

spiderman shot back...

It won't happen. Version upgrade are disabled by default. You have to go to the config panel and check the square that enable Version checks. If you do that, you probably know what you are doing.


Are you sure about this? And if so, is this something Dell does on its hardware or are you attributing this to general Canonical behavior? I ask because I've installed older versions of Ubuntu attempting to get some idea of which version offered the best hardware and software support mix and I've always gotten prompted to upgrade to the newest version of Ubuntu unless I shut it off in the manner you suggest.

So is this something Dell does on all its Ubuntu releases or are we misunderstanding each other here?

--bornagainpenguin

Reply Parent Score: 2

spiderman Member since:
2008-10-23


Are you sure about this?

No, I don't have a Dell. It just strikes me as ovbious that Dell OEM Ubuntu don't have the version upgrades enabled. I admit I'm not sure about it though.
And if so, is this something Dell does on its hardware or are you attributing this to general Canonical behavior? I ask because I've installed older versions of Ubuntu attempting to get some idea of which version offered the best hardware and software support mix and I've always gotten prompted to upgrade to the newest version of Ubuntu unless I shut it off in the manner you suggest.

So is this something Dell does on all its Ubuntu releases or are we misunderstanding each other here?

I assume Canonical does that on the OEM version for Dell. Not doing so would be weird in my opinion. People who buy Dell with OEM Ubuntu preinstalled don't want version updates.

Reply Parent Score: 2