To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Welcome to the Internet, threating litigation against random websites only makes a company look petty.
The author of the story only shared his opinion, and because of the legal threats more people will as well.
If Commodore is going to make a come back in the 21st century, they might want to respect the 21st century freedoms many people expect online.
Edited 2010-09-01 21:06 UTC
I am well within my right to call things as I see them. Dubious website, long list of product announcements that never ship, one product that's merely a Cybernet machine, unilateral press releases, images taken from others without permission, and now an announcement that has attracted the attention of Hyperion's - a legitimate business - lawyers. I'd say me being careful and thinking this is a hoax or a con until proven otherwise is perfectly validated.
I seem to recall boatloads of people saying the same - and worse - about Psystar, and nobody here gave a crap about that either.
Prove us wrong, Commodore USA. I'll be the first to apologise.
Haa haa! I'd never heard of Commodore USA until you guys reported on them. I gave the website a quick glance, looked a bit ropey, but you know, could be small business, can't spend much on the site but on making the all-in-one keyboard-PC's, fair do's. Except it doesn't really look like they're making them either as Thom pointed out:
http://www.cybernetman.com/en/products/zerofootprintpc/
Haa haa! Photos look like complete rips. Brilliant. I'm just confused as to why they are pushing so hard?? I think Thom's well with his right to say they look a bit dodge... I think Thom shouldn't lose any sleep over it.
Might get myself a Cybernet all-in-one, look quite nice 
Thom, maybe you could go one step further:
Prove you wrong, and you will put a nice article detailing the reality of their cool new machines here. That is how it finally went down with Pystar. Once they were shipping real products, you told everyone.
I am a big CBM fan (I have a working PET 2001 8N, a 2020 upgraded to 4040 a 128, a 1541, and a 1571 all hooked up in my basement. The 8032 is broken.) and was seriously considering purchasing from these people. I was a bit wary of their website as well, but was still willing to take a chance. Their legal notice to you took that all off the table. They are really going to have to prove themselves now if they want my money.





Member since:
2005-10-02
Thom did ask for it, clearly stating that an apparently legitimate business was shady. It is useful to employ vague terms when publicly expressing what amounts to reasonable doubts about the legality of a company with an obviously amateur-looking website. Particularly when you do not have any solid evidence to support such doubts. It is safe to say that the website doesn't inspire confidence in the company, but going from that to claiming it reeks from being a hoax is not only very unwise; it is also unfounded, whatever lack of confidence we may have in this what-ever-it-is.