Linked by Thom Holwerda on Wed 22nd Feb 2012 23:18 UTC, submitted by bowkota
Google So, the EFF has an article up on how to clear your search history at Google before the changes to the company's privacy policy takes effect. Most importantly, the hitherto sealed search hisory will now be shared with other Google services to provide better products advertising. Interestingly enough, when I got to the search history page, I saw this. Was this feature opt-in or something? Also, just to be safe, where do I go to delete or even just see the information associated with my Apple ID or my Live ID?
Thread beginning with comment 508154
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Automatically turned on
by Thom_Holwerda on Wed 22nd Feb 2012 23:25 UTC in reply to "Automatically turned on"
Thom_Holwerda
Member since:
2005-06-29

Huh. Guess I turned it off at one point, then.

Guess I'm smarter than I look :/.

Reply Parent Score: 3

RE[2]: Automatically turned on
by bowkota on Wed 22nd Feb 2012 23:28 in reply to "RE: Automatically turned on"
bowkota Member since:
2011-10-12

I forgot to mention though that it seems like this history is not completely erased.

As is common practice in the industry, Google also maintains a separate logs system for auditing purposes and to help us improve the quality of our services for users. For example, we use this information to audit our ads systems, understand which features are most popular to users, improve the quality of our search results, and help us combat vulnerabilities such as denial of service attacks.


http://www.google.com/history/privacyfaq.html?hl=en

Reply Parent Score: 1

WorknMan Member since:
2005-11-13

I forgot to mention though that it seems like this history is not completely erased.


You know, it's funny... you read horror stories about some cloud service undergoing a catastrophic failure and a bunch of users' data is lost. It's like we can't keep our data stored on the cloud reliably, unless it happens to be personal information that we want to have removed, and then we can't get it OFF the cloud ;)

It's like if they have our personal photos and stuff, they probably don't even bother to back that up, but if it's information that's valuable to marketers, I bet that'll survive a f**king nuclear holocaust.

Edited 2012-02-22 23:50 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 8

broken_symlink Member since:
2005-07-06

Mine was off too. I don't remember ever disabling it. Maybe for accounts created before the web history feature launched it was never enabled.

Reply Parent Score: 2

RE[2]: Automatically turned on
by Beta on Thu 23rd Feb 2012 08:12 in reply to "RE: Automatically turned on"
Beta Member since:
2005-07-06

Huh. Guess I turned it off at one point, then.

Guess I'm smarter than I look :/.

Nah ;)
For older accounts, you had to opt‐in, as I remember many many years ago enabling it.

Reply Parent Score: 3

RE[2]: Automatically turned on
by aargh on Thu 23rd Feb 2012 12:33 in reply to "RE: Automatically turned on"
aargh Member since:
2009-10-12

I didn't verify this, but I think it's because you're not signed in with a Google account but with your email address instead (that's not a fully featured account).

Reply Parent Score: 1

Thom_Holwerda Member since:
2005-06-29

I didn't verify this, but I think it's because you're not signed in with a Google account but with your email address instead (that's not a fully featured account).


OSNews uses Google Apps. My OSNews address (thomholwerda@osnews.com) is a full Google account.

Reply Parent Score: 1