Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529884
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Probably Auto Save
by jessesmith on Mon 6th Aug 2012 14:10 UTC in reply to "Probably Auto Save"
jessesmith
Member since:
2010-03-11

That is still horrible behaviour. Auto-save should not over-write the original document, it should be saving changes to a hidden file which can be recovered in the case of a crash. Over-writing a document without the user saying so is a terrible idea.

Reply Parent Score: 12

RE[2]: Probably Auto Save
by MOS6510 on Mon 6th Aug 2012 14:31 in reply to "RE: Probably Auto Save"
MOS6510 Member since:
2011-05-12

I have a Numbers spreadsheet, added some stuff, saved it, did a sort on all data (few hundred lines), quit, opened it the next time only to discover all my data messed up. Lucky I had a recent backup.

(this was pre-Mountain Lion)

Reply Parent Score: 3

RE[3]: Probably Auto Save
by saso on Mon 6th Aug 2012 23:05 in reply to "RE[2]: Probably Auto Save"
saso Member since:
2007-04-18

Didn't it warn you that you were about to destroy unsaved changes? Seems like the logical thing to ask in that case...

Reply Parent Score: 2

RE[2]: Probably Auto Save
by mrstep on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:33 in reply to "RE: Probably Auto Save"
mrstep Member since:
2009-07-18

I like a lot of the things Apple has done, but Auto Save definitely isn't one of them. Agreed - totally stupid concept. It's about as half baked as an auto-save or versioning concept could be.

Versions without the ability to name/describe them? Auto-save that slaps changes in and opens in that state on the next open of a document but at the same time loses the Undo command history that would at least sort of make it feel like a persistent app state? (Not that I want the auto-save bit to begin with, but if it's there shouldn't it at least make things feel like persistent editing state instead of keeping your changes and losing the logical way to undo parts of it?)

Open a doc, resize and go to Save As..., oops looks like the original is already modified. Oh, and really bad interface for browsing the (unnamed) versions - if you can even find the way to invoke the comparisons. Seriously just horrible.

Reply Parent Score: 3

RE[2]: Probably Auto Save
by Tony Swash on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:50 in reply to "RE: Probably Auto Save"
Tony Swash Member since:
2009-08-22

That is still horrible behaviour. Auto-save should not over-write the original document, it should be saving changes to a hidden file which can be recovered in the case of a crash. Over-writing a document without the user saying so is a terrible idea.


I think you may be missing how Auto-Save actually works in OSX. Nothing is over written. All previous versions are stored and can be accessed via a Time Machine like interface by clicking the 'Revert to' menu item where you can browse all older versions.

The 'Auto Save' function actually makes it much safer because everything is saved as you work and there are multiple versions of your document that you can access at any time. Its kinda of neat and once you get used to it you just forget about it until you have a problem and want to revert a document back to an earlier version (or for example create two versions with one based on an older draft) and then its very easy.

Built in backup.

So to talk about 'Data Loss' as the article heading does is a misnomer, no data is lost, it's just stored. The worse that can happen is that you have to do a couple of clicks to get it back. Hardly a big deal, Apple just have to clean up a couple of ways this implemented, which they may not do because it's for old fashioned people like us who still think in terms of using 'Save As' as a back up method.

I repeat no data is being lost.

Reply Parent Score: 4