Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529916
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
But Save As is not just for file versioning
by sgtrock on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:01 UTC in reply to "file versioning"
sgtrock
Member since:
2011-05-13

Many people use Save As to construct a template that will be used as a baseline for several other documents. It's such a common practice where I work that nobody thinks twice about doing this.

That practice goes right out the window with this bug. So, how are we to create shared templates that won't get overwritten the first time someone tries to create a new document from a template?

Reply Parent Score: 2

rob_mx Member since:
2005-08-04

... So, how are we to create shared templates that won't get overwritten the first time someone tries to create a new document from a template?


By "Locking" the file. I think this was a feature since Lion. It would auto-lock the file after not being edited for a while, and it would offer you to duplicate the file. I think you can lock / unlock the file at will, but I haven't tried.

But I agree, this is breaking existing workflows. May be good, may be bad.

Reply Parent Score: 4

kenji Member since:
2009-04-08

My guess would be to save-as with new name BEFORE you edit anything. This is how I have always done it, just to be paranoid.

The template file could always be set to read-only for the extra paranoid.

Reply Parent Score: 3