Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529927
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: file versioning
by Tony Swash on Mon 6th Aug 2012 17:57 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: file versioning"
Tony Swash
Member since:
2009-08-22

Bit puzzled about what's actually going on here...though losing an original document to save the possible loss of an edited version is counter-intuitive to how people actually think/work editing stuff. Can imagine a 'collaborative' document could end-up having little or no relation(unintended)to the original.


See my earlier comment. I tested this behaviour and no data is being lost. What happens when you do a 'save as' is that the original version reflects the latest version and the older version appears as the most recent backed version. I really cannot see how anyone can lose any data doing any of this. Apple's logic is that it's better to have an automatic system that means everyone's data is protected than create a manual system that is nice and flexible and familiar for a few but which leaves the majority open to data loss.

Seems sound reasoning to me. Maybe Apple will tweak it's implementation to suit the few but I wouldn't bet on it.

Reply Parent Score: 3

RE[4]: file versioning
by quackalist on Mon 6th Aug 2012 20:16 in reply to "RE[3]: file versioning"
quackalist Member since:
2007-08-27

Can't see how data isn't been lost cumulatively. Don't use mac but from what I understand you to mean a file is in a liner process of change and unless you remembered to copy the file from the beginning you have 2 versions, the present and the previous 'save-as' as the bak which is whatever variable of 'save-as's' from the original.

Reply Parent Score: 1

RE[5]: file versioning
by Tony Swash on Mon 6th Aug 2012 22:11 in reply to "RE[4]: file versioning"
Tony Swash Member since:
2009-08-22

Can't see how data isn't been lost cumulatively. Don't use mac but from what I understand you to mean a file is in a liner process of change and unless you remembered to copy the file from the beginning you have 2 versions, the present and the previous 'save-as' as the bak which is whatever variable of 'save-as's' from the original.


Actually what Auto Save does is take regular snapshots of a document as you make changes and saves multiple backups going back in time which can be easily browsed and from which any number of earlier version can be retrieved.

It's a bit eerie at first, once you first save a document in an app like TextEdit that implements Auto Save there is no longer a save item in the menu, you just open the document or close it with no dialogue asking if you want to save it. But hidden in the background and instantly accessible there is the previous version as it was before you opened it and made the changes, plus all previous versions.

Personally I think it's great feature but it's in it's infancy, I am sure eventually all apps will work like this. The problem now is how would such a system cope with say a large photoshop file, or a video being edited, but that all comes down to system resources, storage, speed etc, and we all know that eventually system resources limitations get overcome.

Reply Parent Score: 2