Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529952
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
kenji
Member since:
2009-04-08

My guess would be to save-as with new name BEFORE you edit anything. This is how I have always done it, just to be paranoid.

The template file could always be set to read-only for the extra paranoid.

Reply Parent Score: 3