Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 6th Aug 2012 13:16 UTC
Mac OS X How this passed through Apple's Mountain Lion testing is beyond me. "If one edits a document, then chooses Save As, then BOTH the edited original document and the copy are saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original." Just goes to show: do not mess with my ability to save my stuff. There is no one-size-fits-all for this kind of delicate stuff.
Thread beginning with comment 529978
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: Probably Auto Save
by saso on Mon 6th Aug 2012 23:05 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: Probably Auto Save"
saso
Member since:
2007-04-18

Didn't it warn you that you were about to destroy unsaved changes? Seems like the logical thing to ask in that case...

Reply Parent Score: 2

RE[4]: Probably Auto Save
by MOS6510 on Tue 7th Aug 2012 04:51 in reply to "RE[3]: Probably Auto Save"
MOS6510 Member since:
2011-05-12

The problem was that it was the other way around: it saved changes I didn't want to save.

I changed the spreadsheet by sorting columns, just to figure something out. This is something you can undo, but not once you've closed the file/program.

Reply Parent Score: 5