Linked by Thom Holwerda on Fri 30th Nov 2012 11:55 UTC
Windows I'm back from my vacation to the US, the jetlag has mostly passed, so back to OSNews it is! So, Windows 8 has been out for only a little while, and we're already moving on to the next 'version' of Windows. Version is between quotation marks, because unlike previous releases, this doesn't appear to be the a monolithic single release. Instead, Windows Blue, as it's currently codenamed, is more of a procedural change than a technical change: Windows is moving to yearly releases for all devices - PC, tablet, phone.
Thread beginning with comment 543928
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: Or could it be
by bentoo on Sun 2nd Dec 2012 16:28 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: Or could it be"
bentoo
Member since:
2012-09-21

* annoying forced reboot cycles. If an update happens that needs a reboot, you get a 15 minute (IIRC) warning and that cannot be cancelled, only postponed for a few hours. Worse yet, if you happen to be away from your PC during that tim (eg making dinner) then you may find that Windows has forcefully rebooted your system.


You can disable this via the registry (or Local Group Policy (gpedit.msc) depending on OS version). The entry you're interested in is the "NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers" value which does what it says when set to 1. Below is the technet page with all of the Automatic Updates registry keys.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd939844%28v=ws.10~*...

Reply Parent Score: 2

RE[4]: Or could it be
by WorknMan on Sun 2nd Dec 2012 19:49 in reply to "RE[3]: Or could it be"
WorknMan Member since:
2005-11-13

You can disable this via the registry (or Local Group Policy (gpedit.msc) depending on OS version). The entry you're interested in is the "NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers" value which does what it says when set to 1. Below is the technet page with all of the Automatic Updates registry keys.


I did disable automatic downloads, but now about every 3 days, Windows Update tells me I have 1 update, and it's that f**king 'malicious software removal tool', and whatever that other one is. Windows Update is a mess. And rebooting without the user's consent should NEVER happen.

Reply Parent Score: 2