Linked by Thom Holwerda on Fri 19th Apr 2013 14:09 UTC
Apple "All of those questions, messages, and stern commands that people have been whispering to Siri are stored on Apple servers for up to two years, Wired can now report. Yesterday, we raised concerns about some fuzzy disclosures in Siri's privacy policy. After our story ran, Apple spokeswoman Trudy Muller called to explain Apple's policy, something privacy advocates have asking for." Apple cares about your privacy.
Thread beginning with comment 559602
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[6]: caring
by StephenBeDoper on Tue 23rd Apr 2013 23:40 UTC in reply to "RE[5]: caring"
StephenBeDoper
Member since:
2005-07-06

Apple adjusts itself and its policies I guess like every other company.


What I think it comes down to is: the more emphatically committed your are to a position, the odder it looks when you reverse that position. And Apple appears to have a much greater emotional attachment to their positions than most corporations, they're not mere business policies to Apple, they're often treated (or at least perceived) almost as matters of objective right and wrong.

E.g. if Apple were to back down from their stance on jailbreaking, it would be almost impossible to do so without being perceived as weak and/or hypocritical. Just the same as if Microsoft were to start releasing (E.g.) Exchange & Sharepoint server software for Linux.

Not being able to (easily) service a Mac was something Steve Jobs wanted. When the PowerMacs of the 90´s were made he wasn't around.


He may have been the root of it, but that attitude clearly went further than just Jobs. Apple didn't immediately start making easily-serviced models after Jobs left (the first time), and they didn't immediately stop making them after he came back.

One thing I do find strange is that Siri data is anonymized, i.e. not tied to a person, but if that person turns Siri off the data is deleted. So person and data were still linked.


Indeed, that part does seem a bit vague. As others have suggested, it could be mean that Apple only deletes the data that hasn't been "anonymized" yet.

Reply Parent Score: 2