Linked by Thom Holwerda on Fri 26th Jul 2013 08:33 UTC
Google "Android 4.3 has a hidden feature! It's called 'App Ops' and it lets you selectively disable some permissions for your apps. Is some misbehaving app constantly pinging your location and draining your battery in a few hours? You can fix that now." Terrible name, fantastic feature. Also: finally.
Thread beginning with comment 567987
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Comment by Tractor
by moltonel on Fri 26th Jul 2013 09:24 UTC in reply to "Comment by Tractor"
moltonel
Member since:
2006-02-24

I have a feeling this feature is taking that long to arrive (it's not fully there yet) because Google wanted to please app developers more than users.

Now that
* Android is comfortably established as a must-support platform
* Permission-abusing apps/malware is becoming common
* CyanogenMod has shown the way
* Users are becoming more proficient
The feature's absence was becoming more painfull every day.

Hopefully as this becomes mainstream, apps will learn to not take install-time permissions for granted, and to behave well when one perme is missing.

The risk is that the app might disable itself completely if its money-making permission is disabled, but that seems to be fair game.

Reply Parent Score: 6

RE[2]: Comment by Tractor
by Bill Shooter of Bul on Fri 26th Jul 2013 14:33 in reply to "RE: Comment by Tractor"
Bill Shooter of Bul Member since:
2006-07-14

CyanogenMod had permission revoking in version 7, but there were a few problems with it:

1) Apps would often crash if it tried to do something that was blocked by the permission it no longer had.

2) App developers weren't happy that users were able to cut out their revenue stream by denying things like the network permission for simple apps that otherwise didn't need the internet.

CyanogenMod was actually working on a newer version that would only allow certain permissions that wouldn't be related to revenue generation to be faked. So it wouldn't block the permission, it would just return fake data.

From the looks of it Google is thinking on the same lines.

Reply Parent Score: 5