Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Thread beginning with comment 652235
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
double-edged sword?
by Annieyoka on Wed 20th Dec 2017 04:25 UTC
Annieyoka
Member since:
2017-12-20

kind of double-edged sword, we can track our own picture while others can do this as well. Good or bad?

Reply Score: 1