Linked by Eugenia Loli on Thu 12th Jan 2006 07:36 UTC, submitted by Resolution
Bugs & Viruses Users of Windows who have set the Automatic Updates option to "Download updates for me, but let me choose when to install them" were surprised to find that the latest WMF patch had overridden these settings and not only installed the patch, but rebooted the machines as well.
Thread beginning with comment 85067
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: Re: Rumor
by morglum666 on Thu 12th Jan 2006 15:00 UTC in reply to "Re: Rumor"
morglum666
Member since:
2005-07-06

Yes.. I had this happen as well. Was not happy.

1) "Would you like to restart or delay ?"
- Clicked delay

3-5 mins or so passes.

2) "Would you like to restart or delay ?"
- Clicked delay

3) "Would you like to restart or delay ?"
- Clicked delay

5 minutes later, while I was still in a game, it boots me out and reboots. nice huh?

Reply Parent Score: 4

RE[2]: Re: Rumor
by Aussie_Bear on Thu 12th Jan 2006 15:44 in reply to "RE: Re: Rumor"
Aussie_Bear Member since:
2006-01-12

That's terrible.

There should be like a message saying, something like:

"A very critical security patch has been installed on
your system. You will need to restart your system for
this patch to take effect. Please save your work first,
and then click OK."

(How hard is it to write a dialog like that? It takes
you less than 5 minutes)

There shouldn't be any of this automatic restart
nonsense.

The point of software is to still have the user
controling the system. You do not trust a system
that does things by itself when you tell it not to
do things...Its a fundamental thing.

Reply Parent Score: 4