Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652217
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
False positives might be fun
by jaylaa on Tue 19th Dec 2017 20:19 UTC
Member since:

I'm sure they're using other metrics, like geographic location and friend-circle to cut down on false-positives, but I hope there are a lot of them anyway.
Creepiness aside, it might be fun to see who out there in the world looks enough like me to fool the algorithm.

Reply Score: 3