Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652218
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Face ownership
by Alfman on Tue 19th Dec 2017 21:13 UTC
Alfman
Member since:
2011-01-28

Facebook doesn't actually have proof of who the uploaded face photos belong to. So if this feature lets you track other images that appear to show your face, then logically someone else could be using this to track photos of you as well.

Reply Score: 4