Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652219
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE: False positives might be fun
by Alfman on Tue 19th Dec 2017 21:25 UTC in reply to "False positives might be fun"
Alfman
Member since:
2011-01-28

At large enough network sizes, false positives and false negatives become statistically inevitable. The more samples a classification system needs to distinguish between, the less difference there is between the identifying features of those samples.

The only solution is to add more unique data points (like an iris bitmap), but given the limited data/resolution of uploaded photos, this may not be very effective. I predict they'll have a lot of false positives (or false negatives) unless they use other metrics like you say.

Reply Parent Score: 4