Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652222
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
BlueofRainbow
Member since:
2009-01-06

Is there a saying that what you do not know will not hurt you?

Actually, it seems that you may appear in a posted photograph but your face will not be be tagged automatically by Facebook if you are a resident of Canada or the EU. That's quite important as the absence of such tags prevents a fully positive identification.

Reply Parent Score: 2