Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652224
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: Face ownership
by mkone on Tue 19th Dec 2017 22:10 UTC in reply to "RE: Face ownership"
Member since:

From what I understand, only the user "tagged" in the photograph(s) gets notified of the post (if laws and privacy settings allows it).

Now, if I am a famous person, and an amateur paparazzi posts photographs in which I appear, would the paparazzi just "block" me so that I am not notified?

Also, if my ex desires to embarrass me in my circle of colleagues and friend, could he/she posts photographs without me being aware by "blocking" me so that I am not notified?

It is unclear is Facebook has thought it through from these angles.

I think this isn't so much Facebook's fault. This is the fault of the EU. Facebook is trying to stay out of trouble by being purposefully ignorant about people in pictures.

Reply Parent Score: 0