Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Permalink for comment 652243
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
darknexus
Member since:
2008-07-15

That's quite important as the absence of such tags prevents a fully positive identification.

Not really, as the presence of such tags also prevents positive identification. Just because you are tagged in a post, whether by a user or automated system, does not prove that it is you in that post.

Reply Parent Score: 1