Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Thread beginning with comment 652215
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Um....???
by darknexus on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:43 UTC
darknexus
Member since:
2008-07-15

applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you.

So in other words, anyone could still be uploading images of me and I wouldn't be aware if they don't want me to be?
I would say face palm, but that's not strong enough somehow. Aside from Facebook's data mining, what use is this so-called feature? It sure as hell isn't awareness or user privacy.
Now granted, in my specific case, people can upload all the pictures of me they want and I still won't know because... I don't have Facebook and sure don't want it.

Edited 2017-12-19 19:44 UTC

Reply Score: 6