Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 28th Sep 2009 16:18 UTC
Apple If you have Apple's QuickTime media player and/or iTunes installed on your Windows machine, you might want to keep an eye on apple's Software Update tool. Apple is once again using the update tool to push unwanted software onto users' machines without asking for permission.
Thread beginning with comment 386711
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Think of the newbs!
by 3rdalbum on Tue 29th Sep 2009 01:28 UTC
3rdalbum
Member since:
2008-05-26

I'm in the process of building a computer for someone who is not good with computers, so lately I've been thinking of things from her perspective.

If someone who's not good with computers or not good with Windows saw that "update", they would definitely believe that it's a required update to software that they already have.

It's all very well to sit here and say "Oh, anyone can just uncheck the box", but people who don't know much about computers will accept the Apple Software Update Tool's recommendation. Remember, the safest option for any new user is to stick with the defaults and not fiddle with anything they don't understand - and the description of the new program is definitely NOT understandable by anybody except the target readership of OSnews :-)

Heck, I'm a newbie (to Windows) and I would have left the box checked for fear of breaking something or having some feature not work down the track.

Apple should know better. They tell everyone in their ads that Windows PCs get viruses and spyware, and then they entrust your personal details to some software they will install on a Windows PC.

I'd have to agree with many of the other posters: nothing that installs the Apple Software Update will be installed on my friend's computer. BTW Thanks for the QTLite suggestion, I'll look into that.

Reply Score: 3