Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 12th Oct 2009 20:05 UTC
Mac OS X We generally don't report on individual bugs or security issues in operating systems, but a pretty serious bug has reared its ugly head in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. If you had a guest account enabled prior to installing Snow Leopard, then you are at risk of losing all your data.
Thread beginning with comment 388941
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
GraphiteCube
Member since:
2009-04-01

Are you sure "everyone"? ALL Mac users?

Yes making backups is good, but not everyone does it. I do backups and put it on online storage, but not using Time Machine.

Anyway, this bug (or feature) on Snow Leopard is not acceptable. Imagine you have a friend come to your home and want to borrow your Mac, you login as Guest for him/ her. After he/ she used your computer, you will find that all your data is lost when you login to your primary account, no one knows if you will blame him/ her for the lost.

Reply Parent Score: 2

darknexus Member since:
2008-07-15

There will always be bugs that are "unacceptable," e.g. the UAC backdoor in Windows 7 comes to mind as one I think of as such. I find this one just as reprehensible. However, the bug is still there and bugs are inevitable in a large software project. Bugs that don't reproduce predictably are especially difficult to track down particularly if the developers and testers didn't happen to encounter it.
Now, my question is, does this apply to 10.6.1 as well, or is it limited to straight 10.6?

Reply Parent Score: 0

Laurence Member since:
2007-03-26

There will always be bugs that are "unacceptable," e.g. the UAC backdoor in Windows 7 comes to mind as one I think of as such. I find this one just as reprehensible.

..and MS got equally got some bad PR amongst the same tech sites like Apple are now.
So I don't really see why you're bringing that up


However, the bug is still there and bugs are inevitable in a large software project. Bugs that don't reproduce predictably are especially difficult to track down particularly if the developers and testers didn't happen to encounter it.

Forgive my ignorance, but isn't that what beta testing is all about?

In my opinion, having ones profile deleted is never an acceptable bug.

Edited 2009-10-13 01:58 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 5