Linked by Thom Holwerda on Wed 22nd Feb 2012 23:18 UTC, submitted by bowkota
Google So, the EFF has an article up on how to clear your search history at Google before the changes to the company's privacy policy takes effect. Most importantly, the hitherto sealed search hisory will now be shared with other Google services to provide better products advertising. Interestingly enough, when I got to the search history page, I saw this. Was this feature opt-in or something? Also, just to be safe, where do I go to delete or even just see the information associated with my Apple ID or my Live ID?
Thread beginning with comment 508160
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[3]: Automatically turned on
by WorknMan on Wed 22nd Feb 2012 23:48 UTC in reply to "RE[2]: Automatically turned on"
WorknMan
Member since:
2005-11-13

I forgot to mention though that it seems like this history is not completely erased.


You know, it's funny... you read horror stories about some cloud service undergoing a catastrophic failure and a bunch of users' data is lost. It's like we can't keep our data stored on the cloud reliably, unless it happens to be personal information that we want to have removed, and then we can't get it OFF the cloud ;)

It's like if they have our personal photos and stuff, they probably don't even bother to back that up, but if it's information that's valuable to marketers, I bet that'll survive a f**king nuclear holocaust.

Edited 2012-02-22 23:50 UTC

Reply Parent Score: 8