Linked by Thom Holwerda on Tue 19th Dec 2017 19:18 UTC
Internet & Networking

Facebook just loosened the leash a little on its facial-recognition algorithms. Starting Tuesday, any time someone uploads a photo that includes what Facebook thinks is your face, you’ll be notified even if you weren't tagged.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning. It applies only to newly posted photos, and only those with privacy settings that make an image visible to you. Facebook users in Canada and the European Union are excluded. The social network doesn't use facial-recognition technology in those regions, due to wariness from privacy regulators.

Just a heads up.

Thread beginning with comment 652372
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
Comment by Phloptical
by Phloptical on Sun 24th Dec 2017 19:08 UTC
Phloptical
Member since:
2006-10-10

To counter the EU paranoia, this feature isn’t necessarily a bad thing. My kids will know who is posting pics that they might be in, either knowingly or unknowingly, and then can choose to block said pics from being shown on their timeline.

The next feature that should be added is the ability for the photo subject To block the picture from being posted altogether.

Reply Score: 2