Linked by Eugenia Loli on Sat 28th Apr 2007 00:53 UTC, submitted by applesource
Privacy, Security, Encryption Microsoft Australia has defended the company's User Account Control (UAC) system as being "misunderstood" and said it should be the type of technology that all operating systems aspire towards.
Thread beginning with comment 234858
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: Until you answer this...
by billnvd on Sat 28th Apr 2007 14:35 UTC in reply to "RE: Until you answer this..."
billnvd
Member since:
2006-02-04

You should learn the concept of ANYTHING ON MY #%&*&^$$%^& DESKTOP IS MINE!

Even if it is a link to a system level resource, the link is MINE.

This whole issue with UAC is that it is still making up for horrible design choices. There is nothing to discuss. It's a partial fix to a partial problem to a partially useable OS.

Reply Parent Score: 2

MollyC Member since:
2006-07-04

"You should learn the concept of ANYTHING ON MY #%&*&^$$%^& DESKTOP IS MINE! "

Why are you getting so upset?
The initiator of this sub-thread asked for a reason why renaming a desktop icon might cause a UAC prompt. The reason was given, which was that certain of the desktop prompts you see are in the "All Users" desktop, meaning that all users see those icons on their desktops. So renaming or deleting such an icon, affects *all* users, not just you. You're basically doing an operation outside of your own user profile. UAC prompts do not occur when manipulating desktop icons that aren't shared with other users.

If there is enough outcry regarding this, it'll be tweaked in SP1. No biggie.

Reply Parent Score: 1

Almindor Member since:
2006-01-16

Yup, it's a BAD technical reason. So as I said, UAC is not a good implementation for me, not until Microsoft get their act together (see Linux for how the desktop should be).

There's no reason why files on user desktops should be shared. Installers should put copy to each if the program is installed with administrator privileges, not some kind of "shared icon" which btw caused me problems in XP as well (I deleted icon on my desktop and my mom's got deleted too. That's just stupid layout system).

Reply Parent Score: 2

billnvd Member since:
2006-02-04

I was not getting upset. I was replying in the fashion that casuto used.

However, I still think the whole issue is really silly. Nothing on my desktop should effect the system or the other users, Period.

As to other commentors saying that it is a good thing to be able to have one thing install on everyones desktop. Yes, that is handy. However, there is no reason that user x cannot delete that icon or rename it without admin rights Maybe that user never uses whatever it links to.

The desktop is just the desktop, a picture of what resources you can use. The system owns the resource, the user should own links to the resource.

Reply Parent Score: 1

casuto Member since:
2007-02-27

NO.
On your desktop you can have *your files* but also *all users files* created by an administrator.
You can't delete files if you don't have the permissions. This this true in Linux (UGO user group others) and in Mac OS X.

Reply Parent Score: 1