Linked by Thom Holwerda on Mon 24th Nov 2008 18:45 UTC
Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu "The Ubuntu developers have announced the availability of Ubuntu 9.04 alpha 1, the first prerelease for this version. Ubuntu 9.04 is codenamed Jaunty Jackalope and is scheduled for official release in April. The initial plans for Jaunty were published in September, prior to the release of Ubuntu 8.10. Ubuntu founder Mark Shuttleworth aims to boost the software experience and make the popular Linux distribution more competitive with Windows and Mac OS X on the desktop. Canonical intends to push the platform into the mainstream by putting its resources into upstream usability improvements. In addition to the ongoing long-term usability enhancement efforts, Canonical and the Ubuntu development community are focusing on several specific technical goals for 9.04, including improving performance and boot time and integrating web services more tightly with the desktop."
Thread beginning with comment 338259
To view parent comment, click here.
To read all comments associated with this story, please click here.
RE[2]: what a horrible name...
by lemur2 on Tue 25th Nov 2008 10:42 UTC in reply to "RE: what a horrible name..."
Member since:

Yeah, the Ubuntu codenames are getting worse and worse. They should really just stick to version numbers. It's much less confusing as well. Myself and many other can never remember which release is older or newer when referenced by name. Simply use the version numbers to stop confusion and make things simpler!

Canonical fixed the "issue" about which name comes after which way back in 2005.
* 1 Ubuntu 4.10 (Warty Warthog)
* 2 Ubuntu 5.04 (Hoary Hedgehog)
* 3 Ubuntu 5.10 (Breezy Badger)
* 4 Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake)
* 5 Ubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft)
* 6 Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn)
* 7 Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon)
* 8 Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron)
* 9 Ubuntu 8.10 (Intrepid Ibex)
* 10 Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope)

Everything after 5.10 follows in alphabetical order.

BTW, Canonical does use version numbers for released versions. Before October this year, the version in development was named "Intrepid Ibex". Now that it is released, it is called Ubuntu 8.10. Names before release, numbers afterward.

Also ... the version number itself is really the release date. Ubuntu 8.10 was released in the 10th month of 2008.

Finally, this means that the current development version, which is code-named Jaunty Jackalope, now in alpha pre-release state, will become version 9.04 in April 2009.

Hardly confusing. No more complicated that "a b c" and "7 8 9" really.

Reply Parent Score: 6